facebook image

If you have recently decided to go with custom granite counter for your kitchen renovation, you may be feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the different choices and options. One common point of confusion is how granite for countertops is graded. There are often three different grades for countertop granite.

Level 1

Level 1 granite is also known as an entry-level or builders grade granite. This is a lower quality granite that is often used for cheaper installs or applications. Level 1 granite tends to be cut thinner, around ⅜ of an inch, which means it usually requires a plywood backing to fortify its strength. Level 1 granite tends to also be simple designs and less desired colours.

Level 2

Level 2 granite is your mid-grade granite that tends to be thicker than level 1, usually cut to around ¾ of an inch. Level 2 granite has more variety in designs and colour compared to level 1.

Level 3

Level 3 is reserved for the most desirable and high quality cuts of granite. Granite that is graded at level 3 tends to be more rare, and have more rare and desirable markings and colours. It is usually thicker than ¾ of an inch when cut. Level 3 granite also has more noticeable mixes of minerals, which contributes to the more desirable patterns and colouring.

You may be tempted to save money and go with a lower level of granite, but as the focal point of your kitchen design, you will want to find a countertop that fits your style and decor. Often, level 3 granite will be recommended for countertops, because of the unique designs, and overall premium quality. For all of your custom countertop sales needs, make sure to check out Elite Kitchens.


You have Successfully Subscribed!


You have Successfully Subscribed!


You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest